Welcome to Wee-Ma-Tuk Hills Country Club
The 18-hole “Wee-Ma-Tuk Hills” course features 6,486 yards of golf from the longest tees for a par of 72 . The course rating is 72.0 and it has a slope rating of 125. Designed by Robert L. Jordan, the Wee-Ma-Tuk Hills golf course opened in 1965. Our on-site golf pro offers clinics and private instruction. Our course features picturesque lakes,water falls, elevated tees, and clubhouse – making Wee-Ma-Tuk Hills Country Club the ideal destination for your next round or golf outing.
History of Wee-Ma-Tuk
Wee-Ma-Tuk Hills is located on land once mined by the Traux-Traer Coal Company, now a division of Consolidation Coal Company, which operated in Minnesota and Saskatchewan as well as several Illinois counties. Company head Harold Traux apparently selected Fulton County as his home, and it was his son Glenn whose land became the Wee-Ma-Tuk Country Club in 1956.
Over the next decade, Putt Creek was dammed to create Lake Wee-Ma-Tuk. The numerous small lakes – once strip mines – filled in with rainfall. The land around the lakes was divided into lots. Wee-Ma-Tuk translates into Land of Many Lakes. Glenn Traux’s wife, Margie, names the streets after Native American tribes and literary.